Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Jens

The Great Guide to Devices

Greetings to all,

It's been a while since I did anything remotely resembling an article, so I'm somewhat nervous to be starting something with the scope I have in mind. First some background to the how, why and what. I've been a technology journalist for two years now, testing several smartphones in the process. We test these phones using various benchmarks and I always like to add my personal benchmarking tool: Football Manager. It's remarkable how different devices cope with the EME, even when they're supposed to have similar SoC (system on a chip, the processor). I find it useful to take this performance into consideration when writing my reviews, as they show how a device will cope with heavy-duty apps and it will generally give me an idea of what to expect when multitasking, playing games, etc.

Since I've seen many people ask what kind of device they need to be able to play this game without limitations or annoyances, I thought it might be a good idea to share my knowledge and combine it with this forum's. The idea was born: a comprehensive guide on as many devices as possible. 

Since I'm quite busy writing lots of different things, including a personal blog, I decided to keep it simple: a template that people can fill in, while adding a few comments and thoughts on the performance of their device. If enough people fill these out, we will get an accurate overview on the best devices to play FMM on, while eliminating as much of the personal bias as possible (bias because not everyone has access to multiple devices to compare performance).